That was a Roundabout Way to Get There

LAMs (Libraries, Archives, and Museums)
MLIS (Master’s of Library and Information Science)

Week Five
Day Twenty-Seven and Twenty-Nine: BONUS Colleague Interviews
Vicky Gets TWO Shout-Outs This Trip!

“Oh, great. I got a haircut for this.”

Graeme Hanks, Freelance Editor

My intrepid road trip to interview additional sources for my paper began the Sunday after classes concluded. I left London via a shiny red rented automobile to swing though Bath, Liverpool, Bradford, and Harrogate before ending up in Edinburgh to meet my friend Shauna for some Scottish Holiday Hijinks.

View of Bath from a hill
Overlooking Bath

An American colleague (VICKY!!) recommended I visit the National Science and Media Museum (NSMM) in Bradford, and originally after consulting “The Googles”, I figured it was just too far away to fit into my limited time between end of school and traveling with a dorm-room’s full of luggage on trains seemed like a lot of extra work… but when I started talking with my other colleagues in Liverpool and Harrogate, it turned out that they were perfect candidates to interview for my paper, yet I never knew this! The things we don’t talk about on Twitter or Facebook! Then I noted Bradford, the home of the NSMM, is smack-dab between the two. A plan was hatching!

The more I mapped out the best way to fit in interviewing Graeme, Rick and the staff at the National Science and Media Museum, plus adding a trip to see my retired BBC colleagues in Bath, whom I visited on my last visit in 2008, the more a road trip seemed to be the only rational solution.

So learning to love driving on the other side of the road from the other side of the car was apparently inevitable.

Photo of a Honda Civic rental car
I didn’t do too badly for driving for the first time on the other side of the road from the other side of the car.
Hopefully most of the people sharing the road with me couldn’t tell…

Though sitting in restaurants talking to Graeme and his wonderfully patient and funny partner, Charis, and then Rick were fascinating for me, describing a conversation in a blog is probably not quite as dynamic for the reader, so I will just say they are both knowledgeable in their own right(s), and each will add to the information in my paper. Both are considered freelance. Graeme’s main client is a film company in Liverpool, and Rick’s primary clientele are corporate entitles doing live events. Their different perspectives and use-cases will add to the comprehensiveness of my paper.

So with this, I’ll just leave you with a few pretty pictures from my road trip, and The National Science and Media Museum gets its own blog entry!

View of Bath from a hill
Another view of Bath from the hill (oh, yes. We walked up that hill, too…)
View out the author's window, Liverpool
My view in Liverpool. It was a “cozy” room. Quite a lovely stay, actually!
The Iron Men of Crosby Beach installation, Liverpool
The Iron Men of Crosby Beach Installation overlooking the sea
Over the shoulder, looking out to sea of the head and torso of one of The Iron Men of Crosby Beach installation, Liverpool
Standing on the Sea
The author standing among the Beatles bronze sculptures, Liverpool
I ran into some new friends. They’re rather tall

Bath: 2.6 miles/6,100 steps/8 flights climbed
Liverpool: 6.1 miles/16,400 steps/16 flights climbed
Harrogate: 6.5 miles/17,400 steps/18 flights climbed

Leave a comment